The Latest in IT Security

Who Viewed Your Profile – More ways to experience Facebook – Scam


Scam Message: Who Viewed Your Profile – Introducing the new “Who Viewed Your Profile” feature on facebook!


The scam creators cleverly import the profile pictures of the user’s Facebook friends to make the scam appear more legitimate.

Scam Type: Profile Viewer, Rogue Browser Extension

Trending: March 2013

Why it’s a Scam:

Clicking the scam link takes you to an external website and you are prompted to install the browser extension shown below:


We decided to stop here, and we advise you to do the same.

It’s important to remember that anything offering to show you who has viewed or visited your profile is certain to be a scam. Facebook doesn’t allow developers access to the data required to create such apps or extensions. In fact, here is Facebook’s own help topic on the subject:

Can I know who’s viewing my profile (timeline) or how often it’s being viewed?

How to Deal with the Scam:

If you did make the mistake of installing the rogue browser extension, then use the guide shown below to remove it:

How to Protect Your Facebook Account From Rogue Browser Extensions

If you or your Facebook friends are falling for tricks like this, it’s time to get yourself informed of the latest threats. Be sure to join the Facecrooks page on Facebook to be kept informed of the latest security issues.

Leave a reply


MONDAY, MARCH 19, 2018



Latest Comments

Social Networks