WOW I cant believe that you can see who is viewing your Profile! I just saw My Top 10 Profile and Photo Peekers and I am SHOCKED!! You can also see WHO VIEWED YOUR PROFILE here ->
Scam Type: Rogue Application, Survey Scam
Trending: May 2012
Why it’s a Scam:
Clicking the wall post link takes you to the following Facebook application:
Clicking “Allow” will give the permissions shown above to the scammer. The next screen requests the ability to post to Facebook as you and access your information at any time. This will allow them to spam their scam messages to all of your friends. Do you really want to let an unknown developer have this much access to your Facebook information? This particular application is called “Profile View V3.04″, but scams like this are known to use multiple Facebook apps.
Anytime you install a third party Facebook application, you give the application developer access to your personal data. Always be very selective on the apps you install, and only install them from well-known, trusted sources.
Continuing on with the installation redirects you to the following survey scam:
It is important to remember that any Facebook application offering to who you who has viewed or visited your profile is certain to be a scam. Facebook doesn’t allow developers access to the data required to create such apps. Avoid them ALL!
How to Deal with the Scam:
If you did make the mistake of installing the rogue application you are now spamming the very same spam message to your friends. Clean-up your newsfeed and profile to remove references to the scam. (click the “x” in the top right hand corner of the post).
You also need to remove the app from your Facebook account. Click the down triangle->Account Settings->Apps to remove this and other rogue applications.
If you or your Facebook friends are falling for tricks like this, it’s time to get yourself informed of the latest threats. Be sure to join the Facecrooks page on Facebook to be kept informed of the latest security issues.
Leave a reply