The Latest in IT Security

Warning: Wiping Android phones doesn’t actually delete personal data (here’s what to do about it)

09
Jul
2014

Have you sold your used Android phones in the past when upgrading to a new smartphone? Were you safe, making sure to reset the phones and wipe them of all your personal data first? Bad news, Android users: A new study has revealed that using Google’s reset function in Android doesn’t actually delete your personal data. SEE ALSO: Here’s how to give your Android phone a huge speed boost Computer and mobile security firm Avast recently conducted a study in which it purchased 20 used smartphones online. The devices had been wiped using Android’s in-built reset mechanism, but Avast was still able to recover private photos, contacts, owner identities and more using common tools that any hacker might posses. As is the

Tags:  
Comments are closed.

Categories

TUESDAY, OCTOBER 16, 2018
WHITE PAPERS

Mission-Critical Broadband – Why Governments Should Partner with Commercial Operators:
Many governments embrace mobile network operator (MNO) networks as ...

ARA at Scale: How to Choose a Solution That Grows With Your Needs:
Application release automation (ARA) tools enable best practices in...

The Multi-Model Database:
Part of the “new normal” where data and cloud applications are ...

Featured

Archives

Latest Comments

Social Networks