The Latest in IT Security

Uber links to sensitive ride data now expire after 48 hours

07
Sep
2015
Uber links to sensitive ride data now expire after 48 hours

uber-data

Uber has tweaked one of the features in its app after it was shown to let sensitive trip data become publicly accessible through Google.

The feature lets Uber customers share their ETA, via SMS, with friends and family during a ride. The text that’s sent includes a link to a live map that shows where the rider is during the course of the ride, just like the map shown on the rider’s own smartphone.

On Thursday, links to dozens of the maps could be found on search engines like Google, by performing a site search of trip.uber.com. In addition to the route, the maps show the first names of the rider and driver, and the car and license plate of the driver. On these sites, the source code also includes the exact addresses of the pick-up and destination, and the exact date and time of the ride.

Read More

Leave a reply


Categories

SUNDAY, DECEMBER 17, 2017

Featured

Archives

Latest Comments

Social Networks