We’ve written a couple of blog posts this past week regarding Facebook Lists. First, we covered the new Smart List feature that Facebook recently introduced. We then went on to explain how users can use the old, standard lists to bring more privacy and organization to their Newsfeed.
Molly McHugh with DigitalTrends.com wrote a piece today about a few privacy warnings regarding the use of Lists and Smart Lists.
Here are a couple of takeaways you should know about:
- Sharing an item with a smart list will allow the people on your smart list to see the name of that list.
- If you share an item with a default list or a custom list, the people on that list will be able to see the people on the list, but they won’t be able to see the name of the list, pretty confusing, huh?
As McHugh points out, why do people need to know what list they are on or that they are on any list at all?
If you don’t use lists properly, then you could set yourself up for some embarrassing situations. The fact that people on default and custom lists can see everyone makes it possible for those friends to deduce what list you have assigned them to.
Other socially awkward situations could arise by friends knowing what Smart Lists they are on.
Here we see an example of yet another Facebook privacy failure. How you choose to categorize your friends should be no one’s business but your own.
Below is Facebook’s own explanation of how Privacy and lists work:
Leave a reply