Scam Signature Message:
WOAH! my profile was viewed 128 times JUST TODAY, and I can see that I have quite a few stalkers LOL! Find out yours here bit.ly
Scam Type: Rogue Application
Trending: December 2011
Why it’s a Scam:
Clicking the wall post link takes you to the following Facebook application login screen.
Clicking the Log In button takes you to the following application permissions screen:
Clicking “Allow” will give the scammer access to your Facebook data at any time and the application will be able to post to Facebook as you. This will allow them to spam their scam messages to all of your friends. This particular application is called “App11”, we also saw “App12,” “App13,” and “App14” while testing the scam.
Anytime you install a third party Facebook application, you give the application developer access to your personal data. Always be very selective on the apps you install, and only install them from well-known, trusted sources.
After clicking “Allow” we were taken to another web page that was currently not found. It is unclear at this time if the scam’s goal is just to mine Facebook accounts for data and spread the message to as many people as possible, or perhaps a survey scam screen was currently unoperational. Nevertheless, you should never install an app claiming to show you who has viewed your profile. They don’t exist. Facebook doesn’t give developers access to the data required to create such applications.
Keep in mind that profile spy and stalker apps are all bogus and violate Facebook’s TOS, and developers do not have access to the information required to complete such applications. For more information about them check out our in dept article:
How to Deal with the Scam:
If you did make the mistake of installing the rogue application you are now spamming the very same spam message to your friends. Clean-up your newsfeed and profile to remove references to the scam. (click the “x” in the top right hand corner of the post).
You also need to remove the app from your Facebook account. Click the down triangle—>Account Settings—>Apps to remove this and other rogue applications.
If you or your Facebook friends are falling for tricks like this, it’s time to get yourself informed of the latest threats. Be sure to join the Facecrooks page on Facebook to be kept informed of the latest security issues.
Leave a reply